Network Coordinator,


Editor and Webmaster for

Cynthia M. Grund


Please note that this is the way the website for 



Nordic Network for the Integration of Music Informatics, Performance and Aesthetics


appeared as of June 30, 2014, the concluding date for the period during which the network was funded by NordForsk 2010-2014. Founded in 2007, NNIMIPA was initially funded by NordPlus. This website was started in February 2010 while NNIMIPA was still a NordPlus network, and it contains extensive documentation of the activities within NNIMIPA from its inception in 2007 until the final date for the NordForsk grant in June 2014.

     The contacts that were established among researchers in the Nordic area and beyond through NNIMIPA have resulted in myriad cooperative research efforts. A significant number of these activities continue to be documented on the website which you  are most welcome to visit.


(For Google Calendar, please see HERE.)



News Archive




Nordic Network for the Integration of

Music Informatics, Performance and Aesthetics








Nordic Network for the Integration of Music Informatics, Performance and Aesthetics

Participating NNIMIPA institutions,
coordinators and committees.



NNIMIPA-Committee, Syddansk Universitet/University of Southern Denmark – SDU (member since 2007):

Cynthia M. Grund  (Chief Coordinator for NNIMIPA and NNIMIPA-coordinator for SDU; NordForsk Project Manager; philosophy; Editor-in-Chief for JMM: The Journal of Music and Meaning

Samad Ahmadi, (Reader in Optimisation and Computational Intelligence, Co-Director of the Virtual reality and Assisted Living Research Group (Vir.AL);Member of the Center for Computational Intelligence (CCI); Principal Lecturer, School of Computer Science and Informatics, Faculty of Technology,De Montfort University,The Gateway, Leicester, LE1 9BH, UK). Affiliated with NNIMIPA since medio 2012.

Jenny Carter, (Course Leader: MSc Intelligent Systems & Robotics; MSc Intelligent Systems. Centre for Computational Intelligence
De Montfort University). Affiliated with NNIMIPA since primo 2012.

Barry Eaglestone(Senior  Lecturer, U of Sheffield, UK -Retired; Cross disclipinary application of IT to music and the humanities; databases)

Sřren R. Frimodt-Mřller  (Philosophy; Managing Editor for JMM: The Journal of Music and Meaning

Anne Helle Jespersen  (Research librarian in music; head of music section, Library of the University of Southern Denmark; ethnomusicology). Member of NNIMIPA-committee as of May 2012.

William Westney (Hans Christian Andersen Guest Professorial Fellow at SDU 2009-2010; Paul Whitfield Horn Professor of Piano, Browning Artist-in-Residence, School of Music, Texas Tech University; piano, music pedagogy and philosophy of performance)  


(Until ultimo 2011) Peter E. Nissen (Librarian; musicologist; member of the steering committee for Den Virtuelle Musikbibliotek,

(Until medio 2012) Bent Nielson (Formerly: Music pedagogy SMKS/ librarian SDU with responsibility for the jazz collection of the SDU Library; saxophonist). Became member of NNIMIPA-committee in 2011.


NNIMIPA-Committee, Syddansk Musikkonservatorium og Skuespillerskole – SMKS (member since 2007 while still Vestjysk Musikkonservatorium/Academy of Music and Music Communication, Esbjerg, Denmark (VMK); as of 1/1-2010 renamed Academy of Music and Dramatic Arts/Syddansk Musikkonservatorium & Skuespillerskole (SMKS) after merging with the Carl Nielsen Academy of Music Odense/Det Fynske Musikkonservatorium (DFM) and The School of Dramatic Arts Odense/Skuespillerskolen ved Odense Teater (SkO)):

Fredrik Sřegaard  (NNIMIPA-Coordinator for SMKS, guitar)

Inge Bjarke   (Music theory/piano. Member as of May 2012.)

Hanne Bramsen Buhl (Piano)

Guri Frenning (Librarian/musicologist/percussionist)

Helene Gjerris (Singing and Performance)



Morten Heide, (Piano/choral direction,


NNIMIPA-Committee, Aalborg University Esbjerg (a.k.a. Esbjerg Institute of Technology) – AUE (member since 2007):

Kristoffer Jensen (NNIMIPA-Coordinator for AUE; Music informatics, electroacoustic composition and performance)




NNIMIPA-Coordinator, Aalto University - AaU, Helsinki, (Member as of February 2012):

Tere Vadén (Philosophy, hypermedia, practice-based research

NNIMIPA-Coordinator, University of Tampere – UTA (member since 2007):

Mika Sihvonen, (Interactive Media, Digital Archives, Music Education). UTA-coordinator 2013-.

Mika Mustikkamäki  (Information Studies, New Literacies, Media Education). UTA-coordinator as of primo 2012 and for the rest of 2012.

NNIMIPA/NordPlus, then Nordforsk coordinator: 2007-primo 2012: Tere Vadén (Philosophy, hypermedia, practice-based research)

NNIMIPA-Coordinator, Sibelius Academy, Helsinki – SiBa (member since 2007):

Lauri Vakeva (Music Education)

NNIMIPA/NordPlus Coordinator: 2007-2008 Ulla-Britta Broman-Kananen; NNIMIPA/NordPlus /NordForsk Coordinator 2009- mid 2010 David Hebert.

Student Associates:

Dāvis Ozoliņš;   

(At large) Josué Moreno




NNIMIPA-Coordinator, Bifröst University – BU (Member as of September 2010):

Sigrún Lilja Einarsdóttir (Socio-musicology with emphasis on choral culture); followed Njörđur Sigurjónsson as NNIMIPA-Coordinator for BU)

NNIMIPA-Coordinator, University of Iceland – UI (Member as of September 2010):

Helga Rut Guđmundsdóttir (Music education with emphasis on early childhood)          



NNIMIPA-Coordinator, Grieg Academy, Bergen University College – GA-BUC (member as of 2011):

David Hebert (Ethnomusicology;music technology studies)

Member-at-large: Alex Ruthmann (music education, music technology, creative computation)


NNIMIPA-Coordinator at Stord Haugesund University College (member as of June 2012)

Oded Ben-Horin  (Science-music collaborations, vocal jazz, improvisations)


NNIMIPA-Coordinator at University of Oslo – UiO (member since 2009)

Alexander Refsum Jensenius (Musicology, music informatics, piano)




NNIMIPA-Coordinator, Kungliga Tekniska Hogskolan/Royal Institute of Technology– KTH, Stockholm (member since 2007):

Anders Friberg  (Music informatics, piano)

NNIMIPA-Coordinator, Malmö Academy of Music, Lund University – MHM-LU (member since December 2010)

Stefan Östersjö (Practice-based research, performance studies, guitar)